Tags

, , ,

victoriawedding

Queen Victoria first met her German cousin, Prince Albert of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, in 1836, and Queen Victoria and Prince Albert became engaged during his second visit to England in 1839. Their wedding ceremony took place on 10 February 1840 at the Chapel Royal, St James’s Palace, and their wedding breakfast was held at Buckingham Palace. This was the first wedding of a reigning Queen in England since 1554.

Queen Victoria writes about her wedding day in her journal.
February 10, 1840
Slept well & breakfasted at ½p. 9, before which Mama came, bringing me a nosegay of
orange flowers, & good Lehzen gave me a dear little ring. Wrote my Journal & saw Lord
Melbourne. Had my hair dressed & the wreath of orange flowers put on my head. My wreath
& veil were worn, according to the rough sketch. Saw my precious Albert alone, for the last
time as my Bridegroom, & he fetched in Uncle & Ernest for a moment. At ½p. 12 I set off,
dearest Albert having gone before, & Mama & the Duchess of Sutherland went with me in the
carriage. I wore a white satin dress, with a deep flounce of Honiton lace, an imitation of an
old design. My jewels were my Turkish diamond necklace & earrings & dear Albert’s
beautiful sapphire brooch. I never saw such crowds as there were in the Park, & they cheered
most enthusiastically…

