Tags

,

13938609_784252525011465_9068689739572973927_n

This summer, the floor is given to passionate readers. For starters, an exclusive meeting with Charlotte Casiraghi. Charlotte Casiraghi told us all about her love for reading.
Reading as a counterpoint to an overexposed life, a secret garden in which no photographer can enter? The beautiful young woman advancing on red carpet couture dress, whipping her horse riding in horse shows is also a person to being full, able to go after her dreams by, for example, philosophical meetings at Monaco. From October to April, a workshop is conducted each month by a thinker. It addresses the same topic in different facets. And the session ends with a two-day conference and the awarding of prizes.
Charlotte Casiraghi, reading is a passion, not a distraction, a pleasure but also a source of knowledge, brief reading is serious business. “I always had an intense relation to books, she recalls. Child, I was eager to learn to read. To wait, I sat next to my mother and I opened “The Misfortunes of Sophie” … in reverse! “As a teenager, she discovered poetry:” While my friends adored Kurt Cobain, I preferred Baudelaire, Rimbaud, Victor Hugo. Romantic hero in my eyes, that became my idols. I remember the shock experienced by diving into “The Flowers of Evil”, “Illumination” or “Les Contemplations”. But as “The Red and the Black” by Stendhal. A book of incredible intensity. I felt a real shock reading “Journey to the End of the Night”, Celine, who upset the language. And then, of course, there is Albert Camus, including “Downfall” and “The Man in revolt” have much marked me 16, 17 years … ”
How do you choose your books?
“I do not know why sometimes I am attracted by a title, cover. And it is surprising to see how these works purchased by chance we meet at the bottom. “Charlotte was interested in philosophy and psychoanalysis through its terminal professor Robert Maggiori. Then she made hypokhâgne, khâgne to Fenelon, obtained a degree in philosophy at the Sorbonne, before starting an internship at the British newspaper “The Independent” and return to France to cooperate in the collection Mouthpieces, Robert Laffont. “If I had not created Philosophical Encounters, I certainly would work in publishing. For me, the books must transform you, cause upheavals in your mind, your heart. I like that they allow me to understand something in me, let them be revealing. I’ve always regarded writers as friends … I am able to talk about “my friend Freud!” I feel a real connivance with them, sometimes I imagine their days! “His last heart strokes are shoveled. She fears to forget. “I read a lot of philosophy for the price we awarded in June. The text that has prevailed, “the happiness of the dead,” Vinciane Despret (Discovery), is very accessible. After gathering evidence, the author analyzes the relationship between the living and the dead. They summon us, pushing us to act. It emits the idea that we should not mourn, but to continue living with our dead. I also loved “daughter of Memory” Annie Ernaux, a novelist that I discovered in high school and whose writing raw impresses me. “Charlotte bed at night, before bed,” the moment I am more fit to put me in difficult texts. ” Never comedies to relax in the pool? ” No never. If I want lightness, I flip through a magazine, or it can happen to me to immerse myself in a book such as “The Magic of stor- age,” Mary Kondo! But for me writing is a voice and I need books that have the breath. ”
Three books at bedside
The Awakening of intelligence “of Jiddu Krishnamurti (Pocket Book): a book to avoid lending to think, well known in the United States. I do not share all the author’s thoughts, but it’s very soothing.

“It’s for your own good,” Alice Miller (Field Trials): it defends the thesis that the roots of violence are to be found in a too repressive education. A book that many should read.

“Thoughts” of Pascal (Pocket Book): what wealth there is everything in this book! It tells our human condition and it can be opened at any page, it’s brilliant.
Read and see the interview here

