Tags

, ,

 

koningin_site_0

Queen Mathilde hopes that her children get the chance to explore the world. She said in an interview with Belgian media who are accompanying her during her working visit to Laos as patron of the Belgian branch of Unicef.
Mathilde once worked herself as a young adult- in slums and hopes that her children also get such a chance.

“It is my dream that Elizabeth occurs in my footsteps. But first she has to finish school,” said the queen at the Belgian Newspaper Het Nieuwsblad.

In Laos Mathilde take a look at the lives of children in particular under scrutiny. There is chronic malnutrition and many girls are excluded from education. The Queen visited in recent years Haiti after the earthquake and Japan after the tsunami, the Queen does not get used to that suffering, she said.

Never, not even after all these years. The picture painted by me from this mission I will most remember is that of a malnourished baby. She seemed one month old, but in reality was nine months. That baby could never catch up growth retardation? Yes, I saw a lot of suffering, but no, I am not indifferent become. Rather, it makes me just more sensitive. I do not have a heart of stone. “

Her children also receive a comprehensive report of the trip, to bring them to the realization that they grow in prosperity in Belgium.

“By phone, I have been with my husband shared my experiences. And at my return I will catch up with my children. I think I will need more than one day. They need to understand what the issues are here, but also in Belgium. Fortunately, I note that they are already socially engaged at a young age and do volunteer work. they share meals out to the homeless and help children with disabilities. “

