Tags

,

edc7be074dbdcb669879dcb907779f59

Ladies and gentlemen.

No one should have to find a doctor to avoid having to read aloud in class.

No one should fail on a test that you could not – or dared – use aids.

No one should refrain from studying for his dream profession, for a functional variety makes studies of tough.

In short, dyslexia and dyscalculia should not prevent anyone from living their lives. But all must have the same opportunities to develop their full potential, based on their unique circumstances.

That’s where we need to reach. But how do we do it? Yes, that is what we will discuss today.

It is really gratifying to see so many wise and knowledgeable people here at today’s hearing – the second in the order. I would now like to thank you for having chosen to participate today and for sharing with us your knowledge and perspective.

I myself had the good fortune to get a good support during my studies. Both the high school and in college. I’m extremely grateful for.

I am also grateful to live in a time where we know what dyslexia is. Where there is research, knowledge and understanding. Many before me have not had the same luck. Just a few decades ago were considered children with dyslexia as stupid and lazy. Today there are fantastic tools for dyslexics. Technological development has come a long way.

But! We still have a long way to go before everyone gets the help they need, in the way that suits their needs.

I understand that it can vary greatly from school to school and region to region if it is supported or not.

I hope that today’s hearing will take us a few steps closer to the goal: that all children and young people the opportunity to develop and succeed in school and in life.

Again, thank you for being here!

