Tags

, ,

160420-0,0,2AB,1C5,258,1B8,0-4303841

Countess Mountbatten of Burma has passed away at the age of 93. The British peeress, who survived an IRA bomb that killed her father and her son, died peacefully at her home in Mersham, Kent on 13 June, surrounded by her children, the family confirmed in a statement. Countess Patricia was a first cousin to the Queen’s husband, Prince Philip, and godmother to Prince Charles. The Prince of Wales paid tribute in a heartfelt statement that read: “I was deeply saddened to learn of the death of my very special godmother, Lady Mountbatten, whom I have known and loved ever since I can first remember. She played an extremely important part in my life and I shall miss her presence most dreadfully.” A Buckingham Palace spokesperson added that the Queen and Prince Philip have “privately passed on their condolences”.

